Year after year, the Directors Close-Up series offers filmmakers and film lovers the unique opportunity to hear from and interact with the most prominent talent in independent film and television, and their collaborators.

Taking place every Wednesday from March 3 through April 21, each week of the DCU will feature a special celebration of the directors and creators nominated for the 2021 Film Independent Spirit Awards.

This year’s series will feature incredible Spirit Award-nominated artists, including:

  • Radha Blank (The Forty-Year-Old Version)
  • Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)
  • Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)
  • Emily V. Gordon (Little America)
  • Eliza Hittman (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)
  • Steve James (City So Real)
  • Kirsten Johnson (Dick Johnson is Dead)
  • Darius Marder (Sound of Metal)
  • Steve McQueen (Small Axe)
  • Kumail Nanjiani (Little America)
  • Channing Godfrey Peoples (Miss Juneteenth)
  • Kelly Reichardt (First Cow)
  • Andy Siara (Palm Springs)
  • Alice Wu (The Half of It)
  • Chloé Zhao (Nomadland)

View the Directors Close-Up Schedule page for more details.

This series is open to the public and requires a pass. For more information and to purchase a pass, click the Learn More button above.